Vaccine Types

There are many types of vaccines, named on the basis of the classification of antigens used in the preparation of vaccines.

Vaccine Type Description.
Live Vaccines – Live vaccines are produced by weakening the wild virus or bacteria that causes the disease under laboratory conditions.

– The microorganism in the vaccine obtained in this way is capable of multiplying and generating an immune response.

– Its disease-causing properties are weakened.

– Live vaccines should not be administered to people with weakened or suppressed immune systems.

– The live vaccines used in our country are BCG, OPA, MMR and chickenpox vaccines.

Translated with (free version)

Dead Vaccines – There are different types of killed vaccines.

– A vaccine that contains all of a microorganism killed is called a whole-cell vaccine, while a vaccine that contains only
Vaccines containing certain parts are called fractionated (subunit) vaccines.

– Whole-cell dead vaccines are obtained by killing the microorganism produced in culture media using heat or chemical methods.
Hepatitis A vaccine and inactivated polio vaccine used in our country are examples of this.

– Subunit vaccines contain only certain antigenic parts of the microorganism, not the whole microorganism. Subunit vaccines are also known as subunit vaccines and toxoid vaccines.
It is possible to divide them into two main groups. Hepatitis B, pneumococcus, Hib, acellular whooping cough and the recommended vaccines for risk groups.
meningococcal and influenza vaccines are subunit vaccines.

– Toxoid vaccines, on the other hand, change the structure of the toxins of microorganisms with toxins and their toxic properties are destroyed,
They contain preserved properties to induce an immune response. Diphtheria and tetanus vaccines are toxoid vaccines

Translated with (free version)